The End of the World is Near

With the beginning of Spring Training for Baseball, there’s a stirring that’s all too familiar in my heart – Hope. First, I would read reliever, Ryan Dempster’s article as a primer. Something crazy tells me, He’s got the gift of prophecy.

“I think we’re going to win the World Series,” Dempster said. “I really do. I wouldn’t have worked as hard as I did and everybody worked as hard as they did to not believe that.”

The last 6 years or so have been horrible, yet completely exciting to be a Cubs fan. No, we haven’t won a world series in a century, but every spring training there’s a glimmer of hope that we’ll get there. I guess it beats being a Devil Ray fan and not even having the chance to hope. So this year promises to be much of the same. Another off-season trade parade, blockbuster acquisition, and pitching rotation change later, we’re faced with the same situation – hope of a Championship to brag about in Chicago (the one that the “good guys” won, doesn’t count).

Spring training is up and running and so’s my heart. I love the Cubs, until death do us part. But this year, I want to believe that I won’t be let down again. The question is, “Is Ryan Dempster better at telling the future, than at closing a game?” I hope so.

Leave a Reply

