The Contagious Love of God

KCPC Senior Getaway

I spent the last couple days at a retreat in Atlanta for the seniors of KCPC youth group. All I gotta say is “they gets rowdy”. I had a lot of fun hanging out with them, getting “romanced” by the dudes, and, best of all, worshiping our God together. But my favorite moment of the whole weekend came at the very end.

After a weekend of old school praise, community prayer, and studying God’s word, we came back to the church to join the other seniors who couldn’t make it to the weekend retreat. They went around and each senior that attended shared something they were challenged by. After everyone finished sharing, there were a handful of seniors that didn’t say anything because they weren’t at the retreat. As sharing wrapped up, one senior raised his hand slightly asking if he could briefly say something. He wasn’t able to join the rest of the group, because of his responsibilities with praise band. But as he was sharing he said something incredibly insightful. He said, “I’ve had a really hard week, but listening to you guys share has really encouraged me. I really see that y’all have experienced God.” It was nothing short of a profound moment for me. What really hit me about that comment was the fact that this senior was able to see God’s presence stamped on the faces of the others that were able to attend the retreat. It reminded me of Moses after he came down from Mt. Sinai in an encounter with God.

When Moses came down from Mount Sinai carrying the two Tablets of The Testimony, he didn’t know that the skin of his face glowed because he had been speaking with GOD. Aaron and all the Israelites saw Moses, saw his radiant face, and held back, afraid to get close to him. Moses called out to them. Aaron and the leaders in the community came back and Moses talked with them. Later all the Israelites came up to him and he passed on the commands, everything that GOD had told him on Mount Sinai.

Exodus 34:29-32 (The Message)

It’s true, when you meet with God your life is never the same again. Standing in the radiance of God’s beauty will drastically change your spirit’s countenance. As was the case for these seniors. It’s amazing how the overflow of blessings can be a strengthening and encouragement for someone that desperately needed it. It goes to show the power of sharing your blessings with others, because you never know if it’s exactly what that person needs to hear at that moment.

Lord, I want to shine so bright to the world, because I’ve spent long hours in front of your Word.

One Comment on “The Contagious Love of God”

  1. Redemption Story says:

    Hey Dan,
    I guess we both got to “get away” for the weekend. Funny how it was the same weekend. Looks like you had a great/blessing time. That’s awesome. And yea, I know I’ve changed my banner a few times. Just trying to find one that matches, I guess. No identity crisis though 🙂


Leave a Reply

