Mr. Mom?

Here’s the original article. Thomas Beatie, a once Miss Teen Hawaii Finalist, is now a transgender male that finds himself pregnant, carrying his soon to be daughter. (this isn’t the first time, either)

It’s all a little strange to me. I feel like I’m watching a rerun of the 1994 Arnold Schwarzeneggar classic, Junior. Here’s a few quotes from Mr. Beatie,

“I actually opted not to do anything to my reproductive organs because I wanted to have a child one day. I see pregnancy as a process and it doesn’t define who I am,”

“I feel it’s not a male or female desire to have a child. It’s a human need. I’m a person and I have the right to have a biological child.”

“Love makes a family and that’s all that matters,”

What’s next really? It’s scary to think of male pregnancy as the future, not because of it’s novelty and uncertainty, but simply because this now tampers with God’s creation order. Things like designer babies (where you pick and choose character traits, color of hair, etc.) are just around the corner. We have the technology for it and it seems like our society has the tolerance for it (or at least we’re going in that direction). It’s all just a bit disturbing to me.

This is so representative of our “me” post-modern culture. There are no rules, no boundaries, and all truth is so relative that it’s inconsequential. Nothing can keep me from one day deciding that I’m a goat. If I feel like I’m a goat, then by my right to be who I feel like, I am a goat. And I wouldn’t be surprised if I went out on Oprah saying that I am now legally considered a goat, that the world wouldn’t embrace me as such. Isn’t this the sentiment here? Our world has blurred the lines of truth and subjectivity so much that it doesn’t know what to believe any more. We’ll swallow just about any pill given to us, as long as it’s wrapped in the frill of tolerance and individuality.

There’s so much to say on this issue, but for one, I must say, “Wake up, people!” Let’s not be lulled to sleep by an “ignorance is bliss” attitude. Let’s not put aside truth in the name of tolerance. “Wake up!”

4 Comments on “Mr. Mom?”

  1. Linh says:

    This is about the SICKEST thing i have ever heard! SICK SICK SICK! (and of course, this is my opinion so everyone who reads this needs to tolerate it if you want to also tolerate this GROSS, ARROGANT and STUPID act)

    one question is i have is “who is the father?”

  2. Mystic says:

    Don’t worry Linh, I totally agree with you! While I don’t believe care for sex changes, the idea of someone getting a sex change from being a woman to a man, and then turning around and getting pregnant, is just plain wrong. It’s enough that they’re exloiting themselves on national and international media, but they’re also exploiting this poor innocent child as well. Did they ever think about how they would explain to the child years down the road when she starts asking why the kids make fun of her? I understand their want to have a child, I understand that having a child is a natural want in most people, but to embarrass this poor child just because they want to be media freaks is just plain wrong.

    And Linh, to answer your question about who the “father” is, I guess it’s going to be the one who gives birth, since she/he is or did have the sex change to be a man anyways.

    Piece of advice for this couple….start saving your money now, your child’s going to need some serious therapy when she gets older.

  3. Linh says:

    haha, i was thinking the SAME thing, Mystic. Seriously, poor kid… i really feel so sad about her. it’s confusing times ahead when we start blurring the lines established by God.

  4. Anonymous says:

    I ADMIRE THOMAS BECAUSE SHE/HE IS NOT ASHAMED FOR WHAT HE DID AT THE END HE STILL WANTS TO HAVE A BABY OF HER/HIS OWN SO EVERYBODY JUST STOP MAKING BAD COMMENT IT DOES NOT HELP HER IN HER PREGNANCY IT CAN AFFECT HER. SO TO YOU THOMAS GOODLUCK ON YOUR DELIVERY TAKE CARE


Leave a Reply

