Confessions of an ENFP

I’m sure you’re all familiar with the Myers-Briggs Personality Types. You’re either Extroverted/Introverted, Sensing/Intuition, Feeling/Thinking, or Judging/Perceiving. And determining what your preference is in all of these dichotomies will help you understand your personality type.

So in taking the test, I’ve always found myself to be an ENFP (Extroverted iNtuitive Feeling Perceiver) and according to the nicknames given for each personality type, I’m the Inspirer, Catalyst, or Champion. (Secretly, these nicknames really feed me my ego). So the point of this post is to show you how completely true of me it is that I am an ENFP. Let me preface all of this by noting some key components of an ENFP.

They are beings of curiosity which leads them to seek discovery. They are full of enthusiasm and always children at heart. They are never ones to follow the rules and always like to have their options open. They are ones for creative expression, never measured obligations. They are learners of all different kinds and styles, always in search for that ultimate truth and knowledge. They are never conventional, but instead seeking ways to rethink the traditional. Does that give you a good picture?

Now on to what tipped off this post. I was perusing through my facebook profile and it dawned on me. I am the poster child ENFP!! let me explain by first showing you my facebook profile.

facebook profile, ENFP style

evidence I am an ENFP

Activities: my attempt at child-likeness. the evidence that I never seek to live a serious moment, and have yet to abandon my child-like ways.

Interests: is that not the ENFP’s motto?

Favorite Music: these are all bands that are defined by their ability to improvise. they bend the traditional genres they are often placed in. they are delightfully unpredictable, just like an ENFP

Favorite TV Shows: I’m not sure about Sportscenter, but the rest of the shows are all about life’s limitless possibilities. They’re about what could happen; dreams coming true; and a bunch of regular guys living out what they’ve always dreamed of.

Favorite Movies: Forrest Gump (an ENFP’s signature movie about how life’s pregnant with possibilities), Shawshank & Schindler’s (all about the human element, how life is viewed through the lens of human relationships), Dumb ‘n Dumber (it rings true to the childlike heart in me)

Favorite Books: All seem to fall in line with Christian thinkers/writers, but what’s Roald Dahl doing in there? I guess it’s a cry from the child in me.

Favorite Quote: You may often hear an ENFP saying, “Let’s see if we can do this a new way…shall we?”

11 Comments on “Confessions of an ENFP”

  1. Redemption Story says:

    When I took this test in college, I think I was an ENFP too. I think. 🙂 The thing with personality tests are, though, that they are kinda superficial. They fail to address the motivation issue — the heart. I think that’s why the heart motive theory is so helpful in regards to repentance, and ultimately, heart change. But hey, they are fun to take though 🙂

  2. JB says:

    It took me forever to nail down that I was an ENFP because I saw a little of myself in all the types. I find them all equally fascinating and thrive on getting to know someone of every type. It took me writing a note on Facebook about 25 random things about me to finally put all the pieces together. I wonder if that sounds familiar to you? I love everything… I could study anything and love it. 🙂 It’s very confusing sometimes.

  3. lala says:

    okay, just b/c u have all THAT on ur facebook that does not necessarily mean ur an enfp! but u know urself best, so if u think u are one then u probably are 😉

    like, enfps watch alotta tv, i mean i am one and if u lok at my personal info facebook page its like 3 times as big as urs. im just saying, they are basically interested in everything. i mean u didnt really put much on, did u? lol

    • Anonymous says:

      Just because you’re an ENFP doesn’t automatically mean you watch a lot of TV. I’m an ENFP, and although movies and TV shows are great, I prefer reading. That way, you can actually imagine what the people look like yourself instead of being shown on the screen, and you actually get inside the characters’ heads, which means you can explore their thoughts and motives for a better idea of who they are. I’m not saying ENFPs don’t watch TV I’m just saying that deciding that the amount of TV watching has even less to do with personality type than the fb profile page.

  4. Steven says:

    Well, we have a new website for you http://www.enfpforum.com

  5. Haha, life is pregnant with possibilities. That is a funny way of putting it, and true ;o)

    @steven Thanks for posting the link to the ENFP forum! I’ll make sure to check it out

  6. jennie says:

    Maybe true that you’re all those fabulous things. However, I have had quite a few enfps in my life—turns out there’s a lightening bolt amidst all that sun-and-bubbles view. Basically enfps can be degenrates. Often they float thru life in disorganized array–clothing mismatched, not showering for days….ever putting off what they know deep inside is the inevitable while they’re doing all that “exploring and breaking the rules.” You know what I’m talking about–that you actually can’t drop out of college and make a success at working at the local Toys R Us? That normal people shower regularly and do their hair, and that in the course of regular society you will eventually realize that all that exploring brings you right back to where successful people have already taken off?? Hey! Eureka!!!

    • Hello, Jennie. I am an ENFP, and I’ll have you know that while I do tend to be disorganized and procrastinate at times, I actually DO shower regularly and do my hair like a “normal” person. My clothes are always carefully chosen, and I design clothes myself. Don’t insult my personality type. Now I don’t know what your type is, but normal people shouldn’t quickly stereotype.

  7. Mar says:

    Jennie, just because in your life you have met some enfp that do not shower, does not mean we are all like that.
    And what is “normal”? Normalcy, the same as beauty, is in the eye of the beholder

  8. For heart and motive, there is a book called The People Code, that deals with heart.
    I love this especially: “Discovery is my Passion”

  9. Shalala ohlala says:

    Lol. Why some of these comments sounded childish to me( do i mean childlike)? Jennie is right in my opinion but that’s the case of an ENFP losing it. There’s always balance in everything and if you can’t handle that excessive energy then you might end up like that. I’m on the verge of plunging on that world too but we’re in a place where we are expected to do something functional so yea, sad thing about us. I’ve learned to tone it down.


Leave a Reply

