The Other

As I work longer in the service industry (Weiskamp Screen Printing) I’m realizing that some people out there live this life oblivious to the fact that there are others sharing this world with them. I can’t begin to tell you the scores of people that I’ve run into recently that display a complete lack of “other”. You could swear that they’d have trouble walking through a door, their ego’s are so big. It’s altogether pretty frustrating when you have to deal with them, but mostly it’s just sad. “How can anyone be so wrapped up in themselves?”

Far be it from me to act a little in this way though. I admit, I’m no Mother Theresa. But shall we be a bit more considerate of others? If there are 6 billion people on this planet, that means we’re all sharing. To combat this, I’ve devised a few checks one can perform to see if they’re being self-centered.

1. Don’t speak for yourself, until you’ve thought like them

2. Don’t assume, clarify it all

3. Context is key, not everyone lives in your brain, so give people a context from which you speak from

4. Tone & Vocabulary, it’s as much about how you say it as it is what you actually say

5. Look & Listen, show the person you’re speaking to that they’re the most important person at that moment

6. JOY, Jesus first, Others second, Yourself last

I’m guessing there are many more. But these are a few I stand by.

*The catalyst to this post was me witnessing a horrendous sight of some self-proclaimed Christians being complete jerks. It irks me to know that the name of Jesus is often defamed by those that wear Him the loudest. Let us bring great glory to God and fame to His name, by not only being upstanding citizens of the world, but loving visitors merely passing through.

3 Comments on “The Other”

  1. Redemption Story says:

    Amen. May we be a people of JOY.

  2. Linh says:

    love this! btw, did you steal JOY from me? haha 🙂 take care, Dan… Boston sounds so cool to stroll through. 🙂

  3. Yvonne Adams says:

    This is awesome! I’m always blessed in my spirit to see others who know that our real purpose and work is to solicit souls to the kingdom. I’m intrigued by your writings and am interested in adding a link to your blog on my blog page. Would that be okay with you?


Leave a Reply

