Long Time No CD

I recently purchased some of those…what do you call them? ah yes, CDs. Remember those? Who the heck buys those any more? I heard recently that even Wal-Mart was reducing their CD stock by half or something. Anyway, it was a trip down memory lane for me. I remember way back, oh 5 years ago, when I used to by a ton of these weekly. New Music Tuesdays were still the huge ordeal, but instead of traveling a distance of 3 mouse clicks, you’d actually have to get your butt out of the house and into the record store. Imagine that.

Even though I love the new iTunes digital music format, I must say one of the best things about CDs were the album booklets. But before you could get to them, you’d have to wrestle the plastic packaging, most efficiently from a worn corner, and then you’d have to effectively remove the security sticker that, more often than not, left a wretched trail of sticky gunk all over your CDs. Once you managed to get through the jungle that is CD packaging, you get to the best part: the album booklet. I remember Tuesday nights when I’d get my highly anticipated albums and I’d lay on my bed, walkmen engaged, & flip through the album cover for hours (no joke). I’m one of those people that read it from front to back and then listened to each song, while reading the lyrics. No lyrics? No problem. I’d analyze the graphics on each page wondering what the inspiration was behind all of it. Sometimes it all confused me entirely too much, but other times, it just all made sense. Whatever the case, album booklets were my favorite.

That’s the one downfall of digital. It’s faster, it’s clearer, & it’s convenient. But if I could gripe about one thing, I’d ask Apple to send me a physical booklet every time I bought a CD. Yes, I know they give you digital booklets, but they aren’t the same. First of all, they don’t smell the same. Secondly, I just don’t get the same satisfaction rolling up in my bed with my laptop as I click through the pages of my newly acquired digital album booklet of the new Jack Johnson album. Call me old school, but I’m not feeling PDF booklets.

So while we’re on the subject of album booklets, I’d like to share with you some of my most favorite. Feel free to chime in with yours, if you’d like.

1. Dookie, Green Day – This one had it all. It was inventive, creative, & most importantly wildly entertaining. C’mon, the cover had pictures of monkey’s throwing piles of poo at humans and everything else! And the classic hand written back of the cover, which sported a hand puppet of Ernie (who was the guest vocal of the secret track on the album). It’s hands down awesome! Award: Overall Best

2. Mellon Collie & the Infinite Sadness, The Smashing Pumpkins – I might be biased on this one, because I used to worship The Smashing Pumpkins. But I think this album booklet had it all. It was comprehensive and took me hours to go through. And yes, it was a double-CD! I got my money’s worth with this one. I loved the album, but the booklet made the experience that much better. Award: Most Elaborate

3. Nevermind, Nirvana – Who could forget the naked baby on the front of quite possibly the most recognized album cover that was ever printed. Millions of posters were sold & most importantly thousands of over-protective parents banned the existence of this album in their homes. I loved the cover and just for that, it makes my list. Award: Best Cover Art

4. Metallica, Metallica – I was amazed by this album booklet. The art was so simple and almost unreadable, but I was still amazed by it. Metallica was just so cool back then. They were probably the only ones that could pull off a monotone album booklet that was barely readable. Kudos to them! Award: Cool Award

One Comment on “Long Time No CD”

  1. isom says:

    yay i love that nirvana cover!…creepy though…but metallica? really?


Leave a Reply

