It’s Truly Amazing

Don’t you often get moments in your life when the proverbial light bulb turns on and immediately everything begins to click and make sense one more time? I love moments like that. Yes, admittedly, they are few and far between, but hey, at least I have them.

I sort of had a moment like that the other day. I’m here at a youth retreat this week hosted by Arise Youth Ministries and during one of the worship times, as I was singing an altogether too familiar song, the light bulb went off. It’s as if I had been transported back to when I was 18 years old, at a time when Christ devastated my soul and convicted me of my guilt and shame, yet pointed to the love and forgiveness of God, the Father. And there it was again, in full view, Grace. It’s truly amazing. It’s going to sound so elementary, but seriously think about it for longer than it takes you to read the rest of this sentence….

Grace finds us in our lost moments. Grace carries us when we stumble and fall. Grace rescues us from a wasted life. Grace awakens us to what is truly joyful in this life. Grace whets our appetite for more. Grace brings to life a soul that was once dead. Grace breaths new life into dry bones. Grace doesn’t ask for you to pay it back. Grace is God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense.

I could go on an on about Grace. It’s truly amazing. I wish I could keep this light bulb on forever. But sad to say it’s not one of those energy saver light bulbs and inevitably it will soon flicker out. And when it does, I’m going to forget how amazing Grace really is. But for now, I want to remember how amazing it is. It’s truly amazing.

Leave a Reply

