Prone to Wander, Lord I Feel It

Fake illness preacher Michael Guglielmucci told to go to police.

Evangelist Todd Bentley Had Inappropriate Relationship, His Organization Says

Once again, I’m reminded that the power of sin is much stronger than we’d like to admit. Or we could just as easily say that the flesh is still so weak.

I’m just saddened that something like this must defame the name of Jesus Christ. And I’m also alarmed that something like this has to happen to awaken the guard of my heart.

Admittedly, I’m not sure what to make of it all. Yes, these men were undoubtedly used by God to reach hundreds and in some cases thousands of people, and made an impact on this generation for the sake of Christ. But they did fall into a moment of failure, which will now continue to mark their ministries from here on out. Are we to say their ministry was a sham and they can no longer preach the Gospel of Jesus Christ? No. Then we’d underestimate the redemptive, sin cleansing, atoning work of Jesus Christ on the Cross. Are we to dismiss their sins and gloss over their character flaws? No. Then we’d be underestimating the holiness of God displayed through his righteous Son’s death to atone for our sins. Cheapen Grace or Cheapen Holiness? Show love or show Justice?

“Thus says the LORD of hosts, Render true judgments, show kindness and mercy to one another” Zechariah 7:9

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

come thou fount of every blessing

2 Comments on “Prone to Wander, Lord I Feel It”

  1. danahbeth says:

    I’ve been thinking through the same things… thanks for writing about it. God used last year’s jgen to teach me this hymn…amen amen amen.


Leave a Reply

