Brain Bruise

There are times when my mind feels bruised. Today is one of them. I feel like a mishandled peach, left for some poor merchant to throw in the trash at the end of a long day at the farmer’s market.

It’s crunch time for the Fall semester here at Gordon-Conwell. We have less than 3 weeks left of class and there is a full train of papers & finals coming this way. I feel like I’m standing on the tracks, stripped of everything but my pencil to stop it. Anyone feel me?

School’s great though, don’t get me wrong. The other night some friends from Chicago were in town visiting and we talked briefly about what grade in school was our favorite. I quickly answered, “first grade,” solely on the basis that my memories of it are, by far, the fondest. I distinctly remember that in Mrs. Coffey’s class (she’s the one on the left) at Churchill Elementary School we made a 6 foot T-Rex out of paper mache. I think that was the most productive thing I did from grades Kindergarten to Undergraduate. Sad, but true. I wish I were 6 again.

One Comment on “Brain Bruise”

  1. HJ says:

    I feel you. Sadly, I haven’t done anything as accomplished as making a 6-foot T-Rex. I should ask for a refund on my undergraduate education.


Leave a Reply

