Role Subordination in the Trinity

Does anyone else get a huuuuge headache when they start thinking more about the Trinity? I think our minds weren’t meant to think about such complexities. Every time my mind hurts, it’s just all the more reason to worship God, who is beyond me most of the time (well, all of the time).

Anyway, I bring this all up because I’m attempting to write a paper on the issue of Role Subordination within the Trinity. More plainly, I’m going to see if there’s some degree of hierarchy in roles within the Trinity of the Father, Son, & Holy Spirit. It’s a topic that’s way beyond my mental capacity, but it should be fun.

Anyone that’s interested in this subject can check out the recent Trinity debates on the question:

Do relations of authority and submission exist eternally among the Persons of the Godhead?

Grudem/Ware (affirmative) vs. Yandell/McCall (Negative)

Leave a Reply

