Learning to Follow

hey, it’s been a while.

I’ve been thinking more and more about the next several years of my life especially in light of this summer when I’ll be wed to the most beautiful girl on the face of this planet. So i’ll be married in about 4 months, that’s about 120 days left of my single life. While it makes me pause for a second about how much my life’s going to change, I also get incredibly excited for the prospects of this new journey that I’m about to embark on with Caroline. I think back on all my youthful desires and often naive dreams, and I now look at them with sober eyes and I begin to wonder, “What was I thinking!?” But then a part of me wants to believe that those dreams are to be held on to, that I should never let go of them, no matter how unrealistic it may seem to me at the moment. Doesn’t the saying go, “The moment you stop dreaming, you start dying”? I have to believe that God was planting a seed in me in my youth so that those visions and dreams could grow into a mature state by the time I begin to doubt the validity and reality of them ever coming into fruition. So all that to say, I’m really excited about what’s next. For the first time in my life, I really don’t have a very strategic plan or a well thought out scheme, but I’m learning how to live depending on the voice of God to lead me. I hope my ears remember how to listen…

Lead me, God. I’ll follow.

Leave a Reply

