The Deadly Scriptures

If you’re in the mood for some masochism tonight, then I dare you to open God’s Word and begin reading. As unpopular as it may sound, the Scriptures call us to die to ourselves. A little different than what we’ve heard in Sunday School, eh?

Exodus 20:19, “You speak to us, and we will listen; but do not let God speak to us, lest we die

Galatians 2:20, “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and  gave himself for me.”

Matthew 10:39, “Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.”

Philippians 3:7-8, “But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I  have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ”

Matthew 16:24, Mark 8:34, Luke 9:23, “Then Jesus told his disciples, ‘If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.'”

God’s word is a double-edged sword. It cuts us to our deepest core and lays bare all that we work so hard to keep hidden. It’s a deadly word, but a living word. Deadly to our sin, but life-giving to our spirit.

 

Leave a Reply

