Jesus Would’ve Built a Farmhouse Table

Actually, I don’t know that for sure. But it’s probably a safe bet to say he would’ve swung a hammer on a warm saturday afternoon. Yes, even on the Sabbath. That’s how gangsta he is.

So, it’s been about 10 months since my last post. I guess that’s enough of a break for me to get the itch. I’ve had the itch for quite some time now, but it was never brought to fruition. UNTIL NOW! Now I have something to show for my 10 month hiatus. Now it doesn’t look like I’ve been chillin’ all summer and taking it easy…real easy…too easy. I have a beautiful dining room table to show for my year. Hmmm… really? That’s all you did for the last 10 months? Why, Yes! Yes it is.

Well, without delaying it much longer, here we go – a step-by-step (sorta) through my furniture build adventure. Props go out to Ana White for her blueprint on this. And I gotta say, there’s nothing more fulfilling as a dude than to wield a power tool and a hammer and have something to show for it.

All the supplies laid out. Got the wood precut from LOWE’S. I wouldn’t recommend getting it precut, because you could probably do it better on your own, but I thought it’d save me some time…regrettable decision. They didn’t cut ’em with precision, just ran those suckers through for a rough cut – so ugly in fact that I have to sand the ends.

Step 1 – precisely measure and screw the legs together. this is probably the most important parts, because if you get this wrong, the whole table’s gonna be wobbly and uneven.

Step 2 – screw in the side skirt and the end skirt. use glue liberally for a sturdy build. be sure to check for square!

Step 3 – screw in the support beams underneath. make sure you are precise about the depth of these from the top of the side skirts – that will be the difference between an even table top.

Step 4 – drop in the long planks for the table top. screw liberally for a sturdy table. i like the screw hole look, so not afraid to use ’em.

Step 5 – and BAM! 5 hours later, I had a table in the dining room. just had to prep for staining. sand down (with the grain, not against) rough spots. take a hammer and chisel and whatever else to the table if you want that “worn” look.

Step 6 – stain. used a sock and an old t-shirt for an even coat. i think it’s better than a brush, because you can control the amount of stain better and you don’t get those ugly brush hair marks. oh! there’s the bench, which was just a smaller version of the table (same build process, which took about 1.5 hours). just put 1 coat of Dark Walnut Minwax stain for a nice dark stain that shows the wood’s character really well.

Step 7 – applied 3 coats of a Satin finish polyurethane with light sanding (220 grain) in between each coat. let the last coat dry for a good 24 hours for a good seal.

There’s the finished product. 6.5 hours of total work outside and 2 days of painting/sanding/drying. What do I have to show for it? A farmhouse table and a matching bench. I always built junk from wood and scraps ever since I could pick up a hammer, but I’ve never built a real piece of furniture that real people can sit on and use. Looks like I’ll be doing more of it real soon…next project? A lil’ bench for our “foyer” area.

One Comment on “Jesus Would’ve Built a Farmhouse Table”

  1. NRIGirl says:

    Wow! That is awesome!

    Care to join for some Coffee with Jesus?!

    ~ NRIGirl


Leave a Reply

